I chanced upon a good friend of my decked in Hanbok during her trip to Korea earlier on of the year and since I am going to Korea too and would love to try on the traditional costume, I asked her for the place where she rented the hanbok.

Her recommendation was Oneday Hanbok.

I googled the shop thereafter as well as browse through their Instagram. They have a wide range of Hanbok and have multi-lingual staff. Additionally, the store is located near the vicinity both Gyeongbokgung and Bukchon Hanok Village, where you can take artistic shots in the Hanbok.

The website of Oneday Hanbok states that it would be recommended to make a reservation with them, which I did for an 11 am slot.

On route to Oneday Hanbok

My friend said it was a common sight to see people wearing Hanbok walking around but I started to feel anxious when there weren’t a lot of people wearing them at all on the streets.

That was until I reached Oneday Hanbok and realized the place was packed with people trying Hanboks. My sister and I managed to get started in trying the hanbok straight away because of our reservation while I noticed there are people sitting outside, which might be the walk-in guests.

For Oneday Hanbok, they allow customers to try two pieces of Hanbok before choosing one of them as the one they are going to rent. There are also a lot of staff around that will assist you in wearing the Hanbok.

Once you have selected your Hanbok, you can proceed to the next area to do your hair and get hair accessories and small handbags to go along with your look. Your belongings can be stored at the shop itself. Additionally, a deposit is required.

After an hour of trying, both of us finally gotten the look that we like and we made our way to Gyeongbokgung Palace.

On route to Gyeongbokgung Palace, we saw a park where there are many cherry blossoms so we decided to take a pitstop.

As we continued our walk, I realized that there is a lot of Hanbok rental shops in the vicinity, something that I have overlooked two years ago. So, if you find that Oneday Hanbok might be a little bit too far from Gyeongbokgung Palace; do note that there are always alternatives nearby.

 

Look at all the pretty Hanboks at the back! Ps: I also let my hair loose after my hair accessory refused to stay on my hair. 😦

 

If you are entering Gyeongbukgong in Hanbok, admission is free so both of us waltz in and begin taking photos at the different places.



Rental charges for Hanbok @ Oneday Hanbok

4 Hours: 15,000 won

1 Day: 28,000 won

Additional Hourly fee: 4,500 won

Basic accessories (Hair accessories, bags) – Free

Special accessories (King hats, Gisaeng hat, dress underskirt etc.) – 2,000 won

Operating hours: 10 AM – 8 PM daily

Location of Oneday Hanbok

Address: 2nd Floor, 4 Bukchonro5-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul Land address: 2nd Floor, 12 Jae-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul

Direction: Exit 2 of Anguk Station. Follow the map below:

bukchon_en


Operating hours for Gyeongbukgong: 9 AM – 6 PM. Closed on Tuesdays

 

Personally, I am happy that I managed to try on the traditional costume once and being able to take many pretty photos with the costume. Though it just came to my attention that I have been so busy taking photos of us in the outfits, we kind of forgotten to take photos of the beautiful Gyeongbokgung Palace itself! Guess another trip there is in order.

Additionally, please do note that it will be better to make a reservation first before going for the Hanbok fitting as Oneday Hanbok have a lot of customers from what I had experienced. Also, try to get an earlier slot before all the pretty Hanboks got reserved by other customers!

Ps: You might consider bringing your selfie stick so you can take lots of awesome photos with scenic backgrounds. It’s probably one of my regrets not bringing my selfie stick for this trip.

 

xo,

Sok Ling

Leave a Reply

